Inspire Community

Miguel Atwood-Ferguson: Suite for Ma Dukes and New Originals

Multi-instrumentalist, arranger, composer, music director, producer, DJ, and educator based in his hometown of Los Angeles, California. In addition to all things music, Miguel is recognized as a community leader and has organized numerous special uplifting events throughout the US. Miguel also does outreach concerts and talks for adults and kids at various schools, social facilities, and venues, and volunteers in hospitals and resting homes, where he is able to inspire and enliven audiences with his unique, insightful point of view and beautiful, highly nuanced sound.

One of Miguel’s great achievements was in 2009 when he composed and conducted the historic ‘Suite for Ma Dukes’ concert in Los Angeles leading over 60 musicians, whom he chose and contracted, in tribute to the transcendent modern hip-hop producer J Dilla. As composer and conductor that legendary February night, Miguel featured special guests Bilal, Posdnous (De La Soul), Talib Kweli, Karriem Riggins, Stephen ‘Thundercat’ Bruner, and more. The Miguel Atwood-Ferguson Ensemble has featured guest appearances by Sly Stone, Shuggie Otis, George Clinton, Seu Jorge, Kamasi Washington, Sa-Ra Creative Partners, Leon Ware, Flying Lotus, Chris ‘Daddy’ Dave, Moses Sumney, Marie Daulne (Zap Mama), J Rocc, Coco (Quadron), Georgia Anne Muldrow, Austin Peralta, James Gadson, Mayer Hawthorne, José James, Meshell Ndegeocello, Aloe Blacc, Pharoahe Monch, Daedelus, Sara Gazarek, Nai Palm (Hiatus Kaiyote), Deantoni Parks and Ndugu Chancler, among others.


Chamber Orchestra: 
Luis Alberto - Violin 
Katisse Buckingham - Flute 
Paul Cartwright - Guitar 
Paul Castelluzo - Guitar 
Gabrielle Castriotta - Oboe 
Daphne Chen - Violin 
Jamael Dean - Keys 
Philip Dizack - Trumpet 
Vardan Gasparyam - Cello
Lemar Guillary - Trombone 
Peter Jacobson - Cello 
Thomas Lea - Viola 
George "Spanky" McCurdy - Drums 
Michael Mull - Alto Sax 
Carlos Nino - Percussion 
Gabe Noel - Bass Guitar 
Allakoi Pete - Percussion 
Daniel Rotem - Tenor Sax 
Erik Rynearson - Viola 
Amy Sanchez - French Horn 
Garrett Smith - Bass Trombone 
Mona Tian - Violin 
Ina Veli - Violin 
Liza Wallace - Harp 
Chris Woods - Violin 

Community Chorus: 
Nia Andrews 
Ken Barrientos 
Novena Carmel 
Brian Cross 
DJ Jedi 
Alfred Hawkins 
House Shoes 
Shafiq Husayn
Monalisa Murray 
Jimetta Rose 
Markus Swarvy 

Musical Director 
Dexter Story 

Support From: 


Hospitality Partners: